top of page
Writer's pictureOlive Karagdag

Jesus Still Bears the Crucifixion Marks

John 20: 24-29( NRSVCE)

“ But Thomas, one of the twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands, and put my finger in the mark of the nails and my hand in his side, I will not believe.” A week later his disciples were again in the house, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were shut, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it in my side. Do not doubt but believe.” Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.”


The Holy Scripture is not clear that our Lord Jesus Christ still bore scars from scourging when He showed Himself again to His disciples including Thomas, yet something is very clear, and that is; He still bears the marks on His Hands and His Side after the resurrection. The purpose of GOD is not confined only to remind us of the greatest love gift HE ever has given, that Jesus is His begotten Son, the Lamb that was slain for our sins. Its purpose is beyond remembrance, but to continue to believe and end our doubting. It is not only a history to be written and told throughout in this world. It is beyond to work for us in eternity.


Thomas had remembered His marks while he is doubting, that is why he said: “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands, and put my finger in the mark of the nails and my hand in his side, I will not believe.” Remembering is not enough. It is necessary for Jesus Christ to bear those marks of crucifixion after the resurrection and through eternity for many ‘Thomas’ He had left in this world. If Jesus had no marks, Thomas would certainly die in Faith. But Faith was given through Jesus Christ. Galatians 3:25-26 says, “ But now that faith has come, we are no longer subject to a disciplinarian, for in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith.” Faith in Jesus Christ should continue. That’s the glory of GOD given to His Son. Now, is it enough to remember Jesus and His marks of our redemption?


John 1:12 (NASB) says, “ But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, even to those who believe in His name,” Many received Jesus like Thomas, but to continue to believe are few. Thanks be to Almighty GOD, who knows all things. HE will not waste the most precious blood of Jesus for nothing. Eternal Faith should come as His gift too that we cannot boast to GOD; we can work our faith without Him. He should help us not to be deceived by our own selves. That’s the reason why Jesus needs to come back another time for Thomas. He still needs to work on him to continue his faith. He needed to say and show Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it in my side. Do not doubt but believe.” John 1:12 was not written to be interpreted literally.


Yet another self-deception would work in us if we say it is enough to be ‘receivers’ and ‘believers’ only. James 1:22 says; “But be doers of the word, and not merely hearers who deceive themselves.” The Holy Scripture is cleared that believers are not hearers or receivers only.


Matthew 7:21 says about self-deception: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven. Believers in the Scripture are those who put it into action. They should also have Spiritual marks of dying on themselves like Jesus. We should follow Jesus as our example like Saint Paul. He said in Galatians 2:20 (NKJV), “ I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”


Another reason for Jesus bearing that crucifixion mark through eternity is that fulfillment of His promise. A fulfillment of prophecy in Zechariah 13:6 which states, “ And if anyone asks them, “What are these wounds on your chest?” the answer will be “The wounds I received in the house of my friends.”


He will not call us His servants anymore but friends to those who bear the scars of solidarity like St. Paul. This is not only now but through eternity. In solidarity, there is expected to have unity of interests, objectives, standards, and sympathies. And in most cases, they bore marks (for life) on their hands and chests that distinguish their friendship or brotherhood. No wonder St. Paul surrendered himself and have solidarity with Jesus Christ. St Paul declares in Galatians 6:17, “ From now on, let no one makes trouble for me; for I carry the marks of Jesus branded on my body.” St. Paul knew what Jesus meant in John 15:15, when Jesus Christ said, “I do not call you servants any longer, because the servant does not know what the master is doing; but I have called you friends, because I have made known to you everything that I have heard from my Father.”


My brothers and sisters in solidarity of Jesus,

At the time of our facing Jesus Christ, He will surely show His marks to us, His friends. He will say, “See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; Your walls are continually before Me.” (Isaiah 49:16). Are we ready to answer Him when He asks, “Where are your marks, my friend?” Get ready, for He is coming soon. AMEN?

(For your feedbacks, email to amomentofeternalnews@gmail.com )

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page